News

October 2020 - The ECR-net working group is recruiting new members

Do you want to help support our fantastic community and improve career development and well-being?

The IAVCEI’s Early-Career Researcher Network (ECR-Net) is renewing its working group, and seeking 5 motivated and enthusiastic new ECR members.

The aim of the working group is to lead scientific, pedagogic and networking activities aimed at ECR’s from the broad volcanology research community, both virtually throughout the year, and physically at major conferences.

Each new committee member should be highly motivated to support our community. Your “job” will not be too time consuming but you must be proactive.

The working group members (10 in total) all mix in and help to organise events, but can also have further specific roles depending on individual strengths (e.g., social media, chairperson). 

Applicants should be ECR’s (max. 7 years from their PhD) and should send a short CV and paragraph describing their motivation for joining the ECR-Net working group, to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by the 30th October 2020.

The ECR-Net working group is trying to ensure equality, diversity and inclusivity, as well as regional geographical representation, in its members. New members will be selected to reflect this inclusivity by maintaining a balance of members representing regions around the world involved in volcanological research and monitoring activities. We particularly encourage applications from under-represented groups. In the scenario of more applications than open positions, new members will be selected via a vote cast by existing committee members.

 

15 October 2020 - Careers in Academia – Atlantic edition

Weighing to seek a permanent job in academia? It's a tough process, so we're here to help!

 
After an inspiring Pacific region edition, the IAVCEI ECR-Net working group is now inviting you to Part II of the virtual panel event on: Careers in Academia – Atlantic edition
 
Thursday 15 October 2020 at 4:00 PM Universal Time UTC (16:00) (USA PDT 09:00; Mexico City 11:00; USA EDT 12:00; Argentina, E-Brazil 13:00; UK 17:00; West-Europe 18:00; Ethiopia, Tanzania 19:00; Philippines, Singapore, China 24:00).
 
Register in advance for this Zoom meeting via: https://ucsd.zoom.us/.../tJwkdeyppjkvH9L2mmvHbFFHtUcWSQp1...
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.
 
We will discuss possible career paths, interview preparation, skill sets, training and daily life of a range of permanent jobs at academic institutions with this exciting line-up of experts:
 
Dr. Julia Eychenne (Laboratoire Magmas et Volcans, Clermont-Ferrand, France)
 
Dr. Mariana Patricia Jácome Paz (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico)
 
Dr. James Hickey (University of Exeter, United Kingdom)
 
Dr. Hélène Le Mével (Carnegie Institution for Science, United States)
 
The discussion will be moderated by Alia Juman (The University of the West Indies Seismic Research Centre,Trinidad and Tobago).
 
The event will take one hour, with ~30 minutes of structured discussion between panelists and ~30 minutes Q&A with participants. You are welcome to post your questions on our Facebook group page, Twitter account or via e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 
You can review previous virtual panel events on our YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_OnswTU2k8WZuOmdCD22qQ

Print   Email